BUILD · SIX-TOOL COMPARISON
SEO tools for a first site audit
Find crawl errors, understand Google indexing, and see where free access stops.
6 tools checked · No numerical positions · Reviewed
THE JOB WE’RE COMPARING
A first pass on a small website.
Adult-site owners with a small website planning a first technical SEO audit without an ongoing paid subscription. The example is up to 100 public HTML pages, with content and links available in the initial HTML.
What you can access
Alphabetical, with each provider’s original usage unit. Open the findings below for ATN’s assessment, restrictions, and evidence gaps.
| Tool & role | Access & allowance | ATN fit for this task |
|---|---|---|
| AhrefsCloud site audit | 5,000 credits / month [12] [13]Per verified project; counted HTML pages only. | Outside this adult-site shortlist [14] |
| Google Search ConsoleGoogle indexing reports | Free service [4] [5]Verify access to the website. | Investigate Google visibility [4] |
| MozMoz Pro site crawl | Paid suite · Trial offered [15]Ongoing free Site Crawl unconfirmed. | Evaluate when budget is available [15] |
| Screaming FrogDesktop SEO crawler | 500 URLs / crawl [1] [2]Free download; no signup. | Inspect links and metadata [1] |
| SE RankingCloud website audit | 14-day trial [16]No credit card advertised; time-limited. | Assess a future paid workflow [16] [17] |
| SemrushCloud site audit | 100 pages / month [8]Also capped at 100 per audit. | Plan the crawl and recheck budget [8] |
An audit allowance does not establish adult-site eligibility. Ahrefs has an explicit content restriction; other unresolved policy checks are detailed below.
THE FINDINGS BEHIND THE COMPARISON
Six tools, six different checks
Role, access, limitations, and policy evidence in one place. Original directory-profile dates remain separate from this comparison.
AhrefsAdult-content restrictionFree crawl credits are documented, but the content policy prevents an adult-site recommendation.Read findingsHide findings
- What the allowance measures
- Each verified project receives 5,000 free crawl credits monthly. Credits count internal HTML pages returning HTTP 200; redirects, error URLs, resources, and external links do not count. [12]
- Setup
- Ownership verification is required for the verified-project allowance. Methods include DNS, an HTML file or tag, and Search Console. [13]
- Adult-content restriction
- Ahrefs explicitly prohibits adult content, including nudity and pornography. ATN has not established an exception for this workflow. [14]
ATN assessment · Based on documentationKeep Ahrefs outside an adult-site audit shortlist unless the provider confirms the specific use is permitted. Its larger credit allowance does not resolve that restriction.
Still to verify
Written permission for the intended content and workflow; no adult-business eligibility or audit performance has been established.
Google Search ConsoleIndexing companionUse it to understand Google’s indexing and Search data alongside a technical crawl.Read findingsHide findings
- Role in the audit
- Search Console provides Google Search performance and indexing reports. Verify property ownership to access its data. [4] [5]
- Live versus indexed results
- URL Inspection distinguishes Google’s indexed record from a live fetch. Live tests require public access, have a daily per-property limit, and cannot guarantee indexing. [6]
- Explicit-content visibility
- Google documents SafeSearch filtering for explicit content and links to it. A technically accessible page can still have restricted Search visibility. [7]
ATN assessment · Based on documentationUse as the Google-indexing companion to a crawler. Its reports answer a different question from a full inventory of broken links and metadata.
Still to verify
Actual property data, access permissions, and indexing results have not been inspected. No visibility or ranking improvement is promised.
MozPaid-workflow candidateSite Crawl is documented within Moz Pro; an ongoing free crawl allowance was not verified.Read findingsHide findings
- Access and role
- Moz’s retrieved pricing page describes Site Crawl, paid plans, and a free-trial offer. Its free community account lists limited MozBar, keyword, and link tools; it does not establish ongoing free Site Crawl access. [15]
- Evidence limits
- Features were checked through Moz’s provider CDN. The main-domain pricing page and attempted service-terms page could not be retrieved. Trial duration, card requirement, and adult-business eligibility remain unconfirmed. [15]
ATN assessment · Based on documentationConsider for a paid research-and-audit workflow after confirming terms. The evidence does not establish a lasting free crawler for this use case.
Still to verify
Current service eligibility, precise trial terms, selected-plan crawl limits, and practical audit coverage.
Unresolved source attempts
- https://moz.com/products/pro/pricing (opens a new tab)
Could not retrieve this page during the check; pricing evidence obtained from the Moz-branded provider CDN.
Attempted 2026-09-29 - https://moz.com/terms-of-use (opens a new tab)
Could not retrieve this page during the check; current terms and adult-business eligibility remain unverified.
Attempted 2026-09-29
Screaming FrogSmall HTML-site candidateA practical candidate for a small HTML-site crawl when its free feature limits fit your setup.Read findingsHide findings
- Core workflow
- SEO Spider runs on Windows, macOS, and Linux. It checks broken links, redirects, titles, and metadata, with up to 500 URLs in one free crawl. [1]
- Free feature limits
- The free edition restricts crawl configuration, saving crawls, JavaScript rendering, and API integrations. A page count is not a guarantee that all discovered URLs fit below the cap. [1]
ATN assessment · Based on documentationA strong documented fit for an initial link-and-metadata check on a small HTML site. Confirm the intended use and upgrade requirements if the site needs rendering or saved crawl sessions.
Still to verify
Adult-business assurance, actual discovered-URL count, crawl completeness, and usability remain untested.
SE RankingTrial evaluationA timed Website Audit trial can support evaluation; it does not establish ongoing free access.Read findingsHide findings
- Audit and access
- Website Audit groups issues and supports technical site checks. The provider advertises a 14-day trial without a credit card. [16]
- Trial capacity
- The subscription page distinguishes starter trial usage from paid plans. The checked trial section did not specify an audit-page limit; do not apply a paid-plan allowance to the trial. [17]
- Service policy
- The service terms were reviewed, but explicit acceptance of an adult-business audit workflow was not established. [18]
ATN assessment · Based on documentationUse the trial to evaluate an eventual subscription only after confirming site eligibility and the account’s crawl allowance. It is outside an ongoing-free comparison.
Still to verify
Trial audit-page limit, service eligibility, repeat-crawl behavior, and practical reporting quality.
SemrushSmall cloud-audit candidateFree cloud auditing has a monthly budget that also constrains follow-up checks.Read findingsHide findings
- Allowance and repeat checks
- Without SEO Toolkit, Site Audit allows 100 pages monthly and 100 per audit. The allowance resets on the first day of each month and unused pages do not roll over. Rechecks need available budget. [8]
ATN assessment · Based on documentationConsider for a small cloud-based audit after confirming eligibility. Budget the initial crawl and fixes together, since a full 100-page first pass can consume the documented monthly allowance.
Still to verify
Adult-business eligibility, account-level feature access, and real crawl coverage remain untested.
THE BASIS FOR THIS EDITION
Scope & method
Comparison group
Six existing ATN software profiles. We compare access to crawling and Google indexing information, then identify limits and policy gaps. Agencies, keyword-research quality, AI visibility, and paid-plan value are outside this edition.
How we compared
ATN reviewed primary documentation for each tool’s role, free access, usage unit, setup, and adult-content policy. The table is alphabetical. Per-crawl URLs, monthly page allowances, crawl credits, and timed trials are kept in their original units.
What to confirm
A 100-page website can expose additional URLs and resources. Rechecks may consume another monthly allowance. JavaScript rendering, logins, age gates, and crawler blocking can change coverage; confirm those requirements before choosing a tool.
Why there is no numerical order
These tools do not offer equivalent free audit jobs. Search Console reports Google’s indexing; crawlers inspect site content; trials expire; and Ahrefs has a material content restriction. Six documented checks are complete, but no overall quality score or numerical order is supported by this review.
Testing & disclosure
Documentation review only. No accounts were connected, trials activated, websites crawled, or performance tests run for this comparison. Coverage, ease of use, and support performance remain untested.
Links go directly to provider sources with no affiliate tracking. Affiliate promotion rules and permission to use a service are assessed separately. No sponsorship determines the display order.
Before a scored ranking
Before assigning positions, test the same permitted site and URL set across comparable crawlers, record missed issues and repeat-crawl limits, and resolve service eligibility. Evaluate indexing reports separately.
Read the full ranking methodBroader SEO ranking criteria
The weights below describe the planned overall evaluation. This source comparison does not assign those scores.
Task & feature fit
30%Evaluate indexing, keyword research, crawling, or reporting against a clearly stated task.
Cost & access
25%Compare free allowances, subscription limits, seats, exports, and additional costs.
Data quality
20%Distinguish first-party measurements from estimates; document coverage, freshness, and limitations.
Workflow & usability
15%Assess setup, integrations, reporting, platform requirements, and usability for the intended audience.
Support & documentation
10%Evaluate documentation, support access, and guidance for interpreting results.
CHECK THE EVIDENCE
Sources & review dates
Primary provider documentation used for this edition. Features, allowances, and policies can change. Source links open in a new tab; unsuccessful retrievals are recorded inside the relevant tool’s findings.
- Screaming Frog — SEO Spider features and free limits (opens a new tab)
Desktop platforms, core audit features, the 500-URL single-crawl cap, and paid feature restrictions.
Checked - Screaming Frog — Free access and licensing FAQ (opens a new tab)
Free software requires no signup. Licensing and restricted access are explained separately.
Checked - Screaming Frog — Software licence terms (opens a new tab)
Business-use permission and user obligations. Specific adult-business acceptance was not established.
Checked - Google — About Search Console (opens a new tab)
Free Search reporting, indexing information, and alerts.
Checked - Google — Getting started and ownership verification (opens a new tab)
Property ownership must be verified to access its data.
Checked - Google — URL Inspection and live-test limits (opens a new tab)
Indexed and live results differ. A successful live test does not guarantee indexing.
Checked - Google — Search guidance for explicit content (opens a new tab)
SafeSearch and access restrictions affect visibility. This is Search guidance, not an advertising policy.
Checked - Semrush — Site Audit limits (opens a new tab)
Without SEO Toolkit: 100 pages per month and per audit. Documents resets and paid JavaScript rendering.
Checked - Semrush — Free account guide (opens a new tab)
Free account signup needs no card; a paid-plan trial is a different offer.
Checked - Semrush — Service terms (opens a new tab)
Internal business use is subject to the selected plan and terms. Adult-business acceptance remains unconfirmed.
Checked - Semrush — Affiliate promotion restrictions (opens a new tab)
Prohibits affiliate promotion on adult websites. This does not independently determine customer eligibility.
Checked - Ahrefs — How Site Audit crawl credits are spent (opens a new tab)
Free monthly credits for verified projects and the precise counted-page definition.
Checked - Ahrefs — Verified projects (opens a new tab)
Ownership verification and the allowance attached to each verified site.
Checked - Ahrefs — Content Policy (opens a new tab)
Explicitly lists adult content, including nudity and pornography, as prohibited content.
Checked - Moz — Pro features and pricing (provider CDN) (opens a new tab)
Retrieved Moz-branded pricing page: Site Crawl, paid plans, trial links, and limited free community tools. Main-domain pricing was unavailable in this check.
Checked - SE Ranking — Website Audit and trial (opens a new tab)
Website Audit functions and a 14-day trial advertised without a credit card.
Checked - SE Ranking — Subscription and trial scope (opens a new tab)
Distinguishes paid-plan capacity from starter trial usage. The checked trial section did not state an audit-page allowance.
Checked - SE Ranking — Service terms (opens a new tab)
Use restrictions reviewed; specific adult-business acceptance was not established.
Checked
September 29, 2026: first website-audit comparison. Six tools checked; no numerical positions or overall scores assigned.
